Ekklesiyar Yan’uwa a Nigeria (EYN, the Church of the Brethren in Nigeria)

EYN names new leadership

The conference elected and appointed new principal officers as follows: Joel Stephen Billi was named president elect; Anthony Ndamsai was named vice president elect; Samuel Birma Shinggu was named spiritual adviser elect. Principal officers appointed by the conference are Daniel Y.C. Mbaya as general secretary and Zakariya Amos re-appointed as administrative secretary.

Bili will take over the mantle of leadership from Samuel Dante Dali, whose term of office as EYN president was to expire in 2015 but was extended because of the insurgency that hit the church. Bili is a renowned clergyman who has served larger congregations such as Local Church Council (LCC) Biu, LCC Maiduguri, LCC Utaku, and LCC Michika, where he has been most recently.

The Majalisa also named new leaders to fill the three top positions in the president’s cabinet, replacing the following who also have been in office for some years: vice president Mbode M. Ndirmbita, general secretary Jinatu L. Wamdeo, and spiritual adviser Musa A. Mambula.

Jinatu 3rd on left outgoing leaders

Jinatu 3rd on left outgoing leaders